Skip to content

Publishing Data to Snowflake

This page provides all information about how to publish your newly created Datameer views to your Snowflake instance.

Note that a view that was created in Snowflake is a 'CREATE VIEW' view and therefore is not materialized and not a table. Materialized views have limitations (including not supporting joins). Views in Snowflake are a point-in-time of the view in Datameer. They are not auto-updated when the user modifies the Datameer view.

The location chosen for the view is an existing Database and Schema. The possible Databases and Schemas are configured on the 'Integration' page for your Snowflake system. You are not allowed to create a new Database and/or Schema at this time.

Published views appear in both Snowflake and Datameer immediately. These views can be shared across other Projects as well.

Publishing to Snowflake#

To publish to Snowflake:

  1. Switch to the Workbench within your Project and click on the "Publish" button on top of the Flow Area. The 'Publish' dialog opens.

  1. (Optional) Rename the view. Views that are not renamed overwrite the already existing dataset in Snowflake.

  2. Click on "Choose Destination" to find your target Schema. All available targets are listed.

  1. Select the required Snowflake connection and confirm with "Connect". Publishing to Snowflake proceeds. The highlighted published view appears in the Flow Area. Datasets that are published to Snowflake maintain a visual link with the original Datameer view used to publish it.

Deleting Published Views from Datameer#

You can delete an already published Datameer view from your Snowflake instance. Note that you can only delete views that were created by Datameer and therefore can’t delete views that were created external to Datameer. Both Admins and asset Owner can delete published Datameer views.

To remove a published Datameer view from the Workbench only:

  1. Right-click on the published Datameer view from the Flow Area in the Workbench and select "Remove". A warning dialog opens.

  2. Confirm with "Remove". The published Datameer view is removed from the Flow Area. The dataset can be added to a Project or Workbench later on again.

To delete a published Datameer view from Snowflake as well:

  1. Search for the published Datameer view and click on it. The dataset details page opens.

  2. Click on the hamburger menu and select "Delete". A confirmation dialog opens.

  3. Confirm with "Delete". The published view is deleted from your Project as well as from the Snowflake instance.

Detecting Non-Synchronized Views#

You can simply detect when a Datameer view that has been published, is no longer in synchronization with the view from which the published view is based on. Non-synchronized views are highlighted with a red border. The visual warning will persist until the view is re-published or until the changes are reverted.

You can investigate the following information for the view:

  • last publish date
  • last change date to any of the views to generate that view

You can also re-publish the view to make sure both views the one in your Datameer and the one in Snowflake instance are synchronized. Once you re-published the view, the visual indicator that the published view is no longer in sync and warning message disappears.